Skip to content

Rural Youth Bursary

Sponsored by Primary Industries & Regions SA

Primary Industries and Regions SA logo


Applications now close Thursday 26th September 2019


To provide young people (18-30) working in rural areas within South Australia the opportunity to pursue further study, undertake a study tour or to develop a special project, which will ultimately benefit the rural community.

The Rural Youth Bursary (The Bursary) is open to applicants employed in any rural capacity and not restricted to primary production.


The Bursary is made possible by funding from Primary Industries and Regions SA and offers a $5000 grant to the successful recipient.  PIRSA is committed to growing primary industries and driving regional development.


The Bursary is open to all young South Australians (18-30) working in rural areas who wish to pursue further study, undertake a study tour or to develop a special project, in their chosen career.  Applicants must submit their own applications.


Selection will be based upon the applicant’s abilities, achievements and motivation to succeed in their chosen career.

The recipient will need to demonstrate competency in their study, career and interpersonal skills and will be expected to work within his/her chosen career while holding The Bursary.  They will also need to demonstrate how this will benefit their rural community.

A written application by the applicant must be submitted prior to the deadline.

Finalists will then be selected and interviewed by the selection panel.


Applications are open from Thursday 30th May 2019 to Monday 16th September 2019, 5pm.

The Rural Youth Bursary application form can be downloaded here.

To submit written applications or for more information please contact:

Ag Bureau Administrator                                                                                                                                    555 The Parade, Magill SA 5072                                                                        (08) 8249 7581

We thank Primary Industries and Regions SA for their ongoing support of the Agricultural Bureau of SA's Spirit of Excellence in Agriculture Awards night and the Rural Youth Bursary.

2018 winner:
Congratulations Luke Ramsay

2018 Spirit of Excellence in Agriculture awards night.  Luke Ramsay (winner of Rural Youth Bursary) receiving award with Chairman of Agricultural Bureau, Mark Grossman, and Chief Executive for PIRSA, Scott Ashby

From left to right:  Mark Grossman - Chairman Ag Bureau, Luke Ramsay, Scott Ashby - Chief Executive PIRSA

Photo courtesy of the Stock Journal

Past winners

2017  Kayla Starkey

2016  Matthew Howell

2015  Rachel Chirgwin

2014  Alexandra Thomas

2013  Chloe Shaw

2012  Alex Milner-Smyth

2011  Penny Schulz

2010  Chris Stacey

2009  Abbey McKenna

Agricultural Bureau of South Australia

C/- Rural Business Support
555 The Parade
Magill SA 5072


T: +61 8 8249 7581
F: +61 8 8364 2574

Website Terms & Conditions

Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer

Website hosted by The University of Adelaide